Finding Your Calling

In two weeks, I register for my first semester of senior year.

It is terrifying.

What do I want to do with my life?  Will I get a job?

Both of these are questions seem unanswered. But, I’m realizing slowly but surely, that if I figure out what I want to do and do it extraordinarily well, these concerns will melt.

I have a part time job this semester as a Junior Designer at NewSpring Church in Anderson, SC. My team is composed of some of the most talented people I know. They have helped me understand what it means to use talents for something that you’re passionate about. And isn’t that what talents are for?

All of the designers on my team have had non-ministry job at some point and have succeeded in those roles. But, they choose to live in a small town and work at a local church. It doesn’t make sense to most, but it absolutely inspires me. They love what they do, because they are behind the cause. They are called to give their lives to that cause, so they found a way to use their talents there.

This is just an example to challenge you. What are you passionate about? What do you want to change about the world?

Use your talents, whatever they may be, for the things where your heart lies.

The best work is developed because you put your heart and soul into it.

So, start.

You’ve got your whole life ahead of you, and even if your collegiate journey is ending, the adventure doesn’t have to.

Leave a Reply

