Corey.

So the other day, my car battery died again.

I made it way bigger of a deal then it should have been, because I’m a girl, and we don’t fix cars. Or at least this girl doesn’t.

However, I ended up at the local Autozone having and 18/19 year old guy change out the battery in my car. His name was Corey.

I was in such a rush that day…having my battery be dead was messing with MY agenda, MY day, MY plan. All I wanted to do was get out of there, but God started telling me to talk to this guy about his life.

I asked him if he went to school in the area. He said that he had graduated from Pickens High last year. He then went on to tell me that he’d been working 14  HOUR DAYS for the past two days and had another one tomorrow. He didn’t get the privilege of college. But he was standing there, joyfully changing my car battery at 7pm when he’d been at work since 9 that morning.

This got me thinking about how ridiculously spoiled I am as a college student. I don’t have to face reality yet. I live in this perfect little world where my parents pay my tuition, I have amazing friends, very little responsibility and the Holy Spirit in me. But, I was at Autozone, complaining in my heart  about a CAR BATTERY.

How did I get there? How did I get to the point where I felt it was right for me to complain about ANYTHING, EVER?

Philippians 2 says this:

“14 Do all things without grumbling or questioning,15 that you may be blameless and innocent, children of God without blemish in the midst of a crooked and twisted generation, among whom you shine as lights in the world,16 holding fast to the word of life, so that in the day of Christ I may be proud that I did not run in vain or labor in vain.”

 

Shwew.

How often do I complain about classes? Professors? Burnt dinner? Stress? Busy-ness? People? Oh my word. None of it is near acceptable.

Sitting there talking to Corey, those words from Philippians hit me in the heart. Did Corey know Jesus? Was I being Jesus to him? Was I being a light to his world?

I may have been nice to him in words and smiles, but my heart was screaming, “Hurry up, I just need to get on with my day. You aren’t important.” SO. WRONG. Jesus cares for him. Jesus loves me so that I can love. I must love him. People are the most important mission we have on this earth. What a great honor that God wants to use us to be fishers of men! That is the win, y’all.

I ended up getting to invite Corey to NewSpring and Clemson FCA. But, I don’t know if he’ll come. I don’t know if he would want to. I wonder if he could see through my facade of smiles.

So, this is the challeng: Channel every bit of energy that tempts you to complain into LIGHT.

So worth it.

Leave a Reply

